Bossier Parish Auto Accident Lawyer
No matter how carefully you may drive while on the road, auto accidents are sometimes unavoidable. Other drivers are sometimes distracted, under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or they may simply disregard traffic laws and signals. When other drivers act negligently or carelessly, they can cause an accident that results in very serious injuries.
Accident victims can file a claim against the negligent party to recover damages for their medical expenses, lost income, and more. However, these claims are not easy to file. If you have been hurt, a Bossier Parish auto accident lawyer can help you claim the maximum damages you deserve.
Causes of Auto Accidents
Any act of negligence can result in an auto accident. Some of the most common causes of auto accidents in Bossier Parish are as follows:
- Drunk driving
- Reckless driving
- Distracted driving
- Drowsy driving
- Poor weather conditions
- Improper road conditions
- Defective vehicles or vehicle parts
When a driver’s negligent actions cause an auto accident, injured individuals can file a claim against the at-fault driver.
Damages Available After an Auto Accident
Louisiana is a tort state, which means that when you are hurt in an accident, you must file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company. The two types of damages available in an auto accident claim are economic and non-economic damages. Economic damages have an actual dollar value and include losses such as medical expenses and lost income. Non-economic damages do not have a dollar value and include losses such as pain and suffering.
It may be found that you are partly at fault for the crash. When that is the case, the damages you recover are reduced by the same percentage of fault you carry for the crash. For example, if you were found 20 percent at fault for the accident, your damages will also be reduced by 20 percent. Louisiana is a pure comparative fault state, which means you can recover damages even if you were 99 percent at fault for the accident.
The Statute of Limitations
Like all states, Louisiana places a statute of limitations, or time limit, on car accident claims. However, Louisiana is unique in that the statute of limitations is only one year from the date of the crash. Most states place a statute of limitations of two to five years after the date of the accident. It is critical that you file your claim before the statute of limitations expires. If you do not, you will forfeit your right to claim any damages.
Call Our Louisiana Auto Accident Lawyers Today
If you have been hurt in a crash, our Bossier Parish auto accident lawyers at Rice & Kendig can help. We know how to determine the cause of your crash, and will hold the liable party fully accountable for paying the damages you need. Call us today at 318-222-2772 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation with one of our seasoned attorneys and to learn more about how we can help.